How do I check out a book or other materials?
First you must register for a library card. The first time you check out after you register, you are limited to five items.
When will the card be ready for me?
If you register upon entering the library, we can have your card ready for you by the time you have selected your books.
What are the requirements for obtaining a library card?
You must be a resident of North Carolina, 16 years of age, and present a valid North Carolina driver's license or other positive (picture) identification showing your current address. You must sign a statement that you will be responsible for returning materials on time and in good condition. If you are between the ages of six and fifteen, a parent or legal guardian must
co-sign for your card.
How much does my library card cost?
The first card is issued free. If you lose your card, you are responsible for contacting the library immediately. Replacement cards for the first loss are $1.00, additional replacement cards are $5 each.
Do I need my library card to check out materials?
Yes, you must present your library card to check out materials. Library materials can be renewed, as long as they are not overdue, by telephone with your library card in hand. Your library card is similar to a credit card and should be treated as such. It can be used at any of the seven public libraries in Randolph County.
What are the circulation periods?
Books, audiocassettes, music CDs: 3 weeks. Can be renewed once if not on a waiting list. DVDs: 1 week. Can be renewed two times if not on a waiting list.
Is there a limit to how many items I can check out?
Limits per person: 5 DVDs, 5 CDs, 40 books.
Remember: All seven libraries are connected by computer. Anyone registered at one library is automatically registered at all seven. Patrons must return any overdue materials and pay any outstanding fines before being allowed to check out morematerials at any of the seven libraries.
Will I be notified when I have overdue materials?
An automated dialer will attempt to contact you for the first three weeks that material is overdue. A notice will be mailed after one month overdue and after two months. A final notice and letter from the Randolph County attorney will be sent after three months. Patrons with material overdue that exceeds $100 in replacement costs can be summoned to court. Remember: notification of overdue material is a courtesy only; you are responsible for fines and replacement costs regardless of whether you have received notification.
What are the overdue charges?
10 cents per day for books, audios, pamphlets, or any printed materials. $1.00 per day for videos, DVDs, and CD-ROMs. The maximum fine per item is $5.00. The library is much more concerned with having materials returned than with overdue fines!
Unreturned material deprives library users of important resources, and has a significant cost for the library. The library uses a collection agency to recover unreturned material, or its replacement cost (including a collection fee), after 60 days overdue. Overdue fines in excess of $25 also are turned over to the collection agency for recovery.